Who We Are

OUR MISSION

To promote racial equity, economic security, health and well-being for all people in Michigan through policy change.

The Michigan League for Public Policy is a nonpartisan policy institute dedicated to economic opportunity for all. It is the only state-level organization that addresses poverty in a comprehensive way and analyzes the impact of state and federal budgets and policies on residents with low incomes. All of the League’s work is done through a racial equity lens.

The League has been working for more than 100 years on the issues you care about:

  • Empowering Families with Young Children
  • Promoting Skills for the New Economy
  • Creating Work and Economic Opportunity for All
  • Strengthening Healthy Kids and Families
  • Advocating for Strong Revenues and Smart Investments

Board of Directors // Officers

Building a stronger Michigan begins with building a strong team. The League prides itself on its team, which is a diverse group of experts from diverse backgrounds who are committed to our values of nonpartisanship and opportunity for all.

Charles Ballard

BOARD CHAIR

Charles Ballard

Robert Swanson

IMMEDIATE PAST BOARD CHAIR

Robert Swanson

Sonia Harb

VICE CHAIR

Sonia Harb

kleine

TREASURER

Robert Kleine

OUR STAFF

Gilda Z. Jacobs

President/CEO
gjacobs@mlpp.org

Karen Holcomb Merrill

COO
karenhm@mlpp.org

Dwayne Barnes

Community Engagement Specialist
dbarnes@mlpp.org

Amber Bellazaire

Policy Analyst
abellazaire@mlpp.org

Julie Cassidy

Senior Policy Analyst
jcassidy@mlpp.org

Phyllis Killips

Assistant to the President
pkillips@mlpp.org

Tillie Kucharek

Graphic Designer
tkucharek@mlpp.org

Renell Weathers

Community Engagement Director
rweathers@mlpp.org

Parker James

Kids Count Policy Analyst
pjames@mlpp.org

Emily Jorgensen

Communications Assistant
ejorgensen@mlpp.org

Laura Ross

Communications Director
lauramr@mlpp.org

Alex Rossman

External Affairs Director
arossman@mlpp.org

Peter Ruark

Senior Policy Analyst
pruark@mlpp.org

Pat Sorenson

Senior Policy Analyst
psorenson@mlpp.org

Jayme Vosovic

Community Engagement Specialist
jvosovic@mlpp.org

Christina Alexander

CPP Bookkeeper
calexander@mlpp.org

Simon Marshall-Shah

State Policy Fellow
smarshall-shah@mlpp.org

Brandon Betz

Policy Analyst
bbetz@mlpp.org

Kelsey Perdue

Kids Count Project Director
kperdue@mlpp.org

WE ARE A UNITED WAY AGENCY

Contact Us

Have a question for the League? Send us a message!